Social Security Disability

Top Granted Claims:

  • Back or Neck Problems
  • Degenerative Disk Disease
  • Diabetes
  • Cancer
  • Arthritis
  • Seizure Disorder
  • Migraines
  • Schizophrenia
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Depression
  • Personality Disorder
  • Mental Retardation
  • Anxiety Disorder
  • PTSD

Social Security Disability

Overview Process Eligibility

Though there are nearly 5.3 million disabled individuals in the United States, each case is unique.

Level 1, Filing your application:

You can use representation like American Disability Advocates, Inc., or you can file your claim on your own. There is a wide range of paperwork to be completed at this level. There is a higher probability of winning your disability claim when you utilize the services of Experienced Representatives. However, you may choose to file your claim on your own by simply contacting your local Social Security office. You may also file your claim online by going to

American Disability Advocates has more than 50 years experience in winning Social Security disability claims. We can guide you through this process and ensure that all necessary documents are competed when filing your initial claim.

Level 2, Reconsideration:

Many claims are turned down the first time and ”Reconsideration“ must be filed. Reconsideration means that your entire claim is reviewed by someone other than the person who originally saw it. A ”Request for Reconsideration“ must be filed in writing within 60 days of the initial denial.

Level 3, Hearing:

At the hearing, the Administrative Law Judge will question you about the effects of your condition(s) on your ability to function. Your Representative will also ask questions at your hearing. There may also be impartial expert witnesses such as doctors or vocational experts who will answer questions from the Judge and your Representative. At this point, additional/updated medical evidence should already have been submitted to the Judge. After the hearing, the Judge will notify you in writing of his/her decision.

Level 4, Appeals Council:

If your case is denied before the Administrative Law Judge, you must then appeal to the Appeals Council within 60 days. The Appeals Council is a review board within the Social Security Administration. One of three outcomes will occur; they issue a new decision, return the case for a new hearing, or allow the Administrative Law Judge's decision to stand.